Armen Chakmakjian

Politics…

In politics on April 25, 2008 at 2:40 am

I tend to take a philosophical view of a Presidential election. I try to go through history and see if there’s a pattern emerging.  Well this year there are a few interesting things going on:

  • All three major remaining candidates are Senators, and have no executive experience (although Sen. Clinton gets the sniff vote)
  • 2 of the candidates are what I term as Vietnam era youth.  (aka they were in battle or college during the Vietnam War).
  • The last couple of Presidents were avoiders of tough service during the Vietnam era.  (WJC,GWB)
  • The 6 of the 7 presidents prior to that were youth during WWII, the exception was Carter, who was stationed on a nuclear sub during the 50’s.  (inventory, JFK, LBH, RMN, GRF, RR, GHWB)
  • The 3 president’s before that came into adulthood during WWI (FDR, HST, DDE)
  • This is the first election since 1952 where an incumbent President or VP is not running.
  • One candidate is the first candidate to reach this far who was not a Vietnam era candidate.  
  • The last side by side generational election was Dukakis (Korea) and Bush41 (WWII).  (Dole and Clinton were separated by Korea, Bush41 and Clinton were separated by Korea, Kerry/Gore and Bush reach adult age during the Viet Nam era)
  • I supported Carter in 80 (I was 16 and couldn’t vote), I voted for Walter Mondale in 1984 and Republican for president since.

So I can’t tell you how I’m going to vote.  It’s going to come down to the events of the next 6 months.  If I’m scared internationally, I’ll lean right.  If things are calm, I’m more inclined to lean left if the candidate is from my generation and not the one that was in college when I was 5 years old.  I do have a problem with the find-a-thing-to-hug-activist vs chicken-hawk elections we have had for the last 3 elections.  They all drank too much or didn’t inhale, they are all TOOO sanctimonious about their side and they don’t inspire me at all.

So that’s where it comes down.  If I’m nervous I’m going to lean right.  If I’m calm and inspired and see my generation have an opportunity to run things, I’ll lean left in the booth.   The music of the 60s resonates with me artistically, it doesn’t inspire me to vote.   The next 6 months are going to be interesting.

  1. FDR was much older than Eisenhower and Truman, so I recant on just him for the analysis above.

Leave a Reply

