Armen Chakmakjian

OSX Leopard on my Powerbook G4

In technology on September 18, 2008 at 2:32 am

Looking good.   I’ll be updating this as I have some more things to say.  Yeah I know, Snow Leopard is on its way, but I’ve heard that October the MacBook line is getting a refresh, so I’m still waiting, but in the meantime, I get to have some fun with this machine.

First cuts, Calendar and Mail are much cooler.   The cover flow in the finder is very cool, especially with the preview…very nice.

  1. Continuing to play. Stacks now makes sense….when you have huge flat directories like mine, it pops up a window instead of a stack.

    Things seemed to be running cleanly, although every once in a while it seems like the machine is struggling to keep up with my typing.

    Spaces seems to work very well, but I haven’t figured out if there is a way to have two different FF windows in two different spaces. it seems like you end up always opening up in the same space…so I use safari in another space to get around it.

    I did notice that a couple of new features got exposed in safari due to the os upgrade. The web clip->widget button wasn’t there before I did the upgrade. it is kind of a cool feature.

    My main concern has been will the G4 be able to handle leopard from a performance pov. So far so good.

Leave a Reply

