Armen Chakmakjian

Experimenting with TweetDeck and Utterli

In technology on September 27, 2008 at 4:27 pm

So I have been playing with TweetDeck.   First off let me say that I generally use twitter to update my status’s on other sites more than for the conversational aspect of it.   Some people can drag me into one but, eh not much interest there.

After a short stint with Utterli, I can see it’s usefulness if I wanted to post other media in twitter-like fashion, but really, the application itself (uploading the latest picture on my blackberry or whatever) just isn’t where I’m going to be doing things.  That doesn’t mean I can’t see someone who’s way of expression and sharing wouldn’t be a user, it’s just not me, so I fall back on twitter.

TweetDeck on the other hand seems pretty cool, because unlike the twitter feed on site, this will keep updating and give you offline capability because it is an air app.    Now, that still isn’t a killer app for me, but having the feed update with the few people I am following on twitter is kinda nice.  I’m usually not cut off from a network connection so tweeting offline seems, well, weird.  If a tree falls in a forest does it make a sound?   I’ve complained in the past that facebook should update itself (there probably is some app that does, but the effort in finding one just hasn’t been a priority.

TweetDeck has all this other stuff that it does, that I’ve been poking at, but the .tv connection although cool is also one of those areas where the solution has been provided for a problem I am not trying to solve.

Finally TweetDeck acts differently on my powerbook vs my work laptop.   The replies window on the powerbook installation doesn’t show anything or seems to drop stuff.   On the PC version it seems to work correctly.

The look and feel of the AIR app is slick although changing column widths would be a useful feature (they seem to be stuck at a standard size (at least on my mac).    At this point I’m using it and I think it is pretty cool.  However, I’ve had to drop several of the people who I follow because they follow me.  They just have started to say some weird things and just don’t need to see it (esp. since I don’t know who the hell they are).  They haven’t said anything to me personally but their random thoughts are…disturbing?

  1. OK so I just tried the new Utterli Air Widget. The ennui that I felt as I played with it was not dissimilar to tasting one of those fake cakes made with applesauce instead of butter or shortening…it felt like a cake, but it tastes like cardboard.

    OK so that’s a little harsh but I was severely underwhelmed in comparison to tweetdeck.

Leave a Reply

