Armen Chakmakjian

The top 25 most played songs in my iTunes Library…

In Music on October 23, 2008 at 4:05 am

1 Falling in and out of love (Pure Prairie League)
2 Aimee (Pure Prairie League)
3 Sister Golden Hair (America)
4 More Than a Feeling (Boston)
5 You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away (Beatles)
6 Sinfonia- Handel’s Messiah (Sir George Solti/Chicago Symphony)
7 Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen)
8  Don’t Cross the River (America)
9  Bach: Brandenburg Concerto #2 in F Major – Allegro (Herbert Von Karajan/Berlin Philharmoniker)
10 Bach: Brandenburg Concerto #2 in F Major – Allegro assai (Herbert Von Karajan/Berlin Philharmoniker)
11 Bach: Brandenburg Concerto #2 in F Major – Andante (Herbert Von Karajan/Berlin Philharmoniker)
12 Suite: Judy Blue Eyes (Crosby, Stills & Nash)
13 Lonely People (America)
14 Think I’m in Love (Eddie Money)
15 Help! (Beatles)
16 Gabriel’s Message (Sting)
17 The Night Before (Beatles)
18 Clear as the Driven Snow (Doobie Brothers)
19 Hotel California (The Eagles)
20 Hold on Loosely (.38 Special)
21 Long Train Runnin’ (Doobie Brothers)
22 You Keep Runnin’ Away (.38 Special)
23 China Grove (Doobie Brothers)
24 Rockin’ Into the Night (.38 Special)
25 Walk Like and Egyptian (The Bangles)

  1. On Call Kings Of Leon
    You Keep It All In The Beautiful South
    Something New The Airborne Toxic Event
    Sometime Around Midnight The Airborne Toxic Event
    Five Get over Excited The Housemartins
    All I ever Wanted Dear Leader
    The Runner Kings Of Leon
    These Days Joy Division
    Knocked Up Kings Of Leon
    Heavens James
    The World’s on Fire The Housemartins
    The People Who Grinned Themselves to Death The Housemartins
    I Feel It All Feist
    Time After Time Everything But The Girl
    Enjoy the Silence Depeche Mode
    Just Like Heaven The Cure
    Bob Caygeon The Tragically Hip
    Scared The Tragically Hip
    Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You Lauryn Hill
    Black Thumbnail Kings Of Leon
    Dinner With Ivan Big Head Todd & The Monsters
    Josephine The Tragically Hip
    Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors Editors
    Love Will Tear Us Apart Joy Division
    God Only Knows The Beach Boys

  2. Wow that’s a heck of a list. I don’t think I’ve been exposed to the housemartins so I have some investigation to do. Thanks Eric.

  3. Is that a phase Armen or did you stop listening to the radio after 1982? 🙂

    Tears Dry On Their Own-Amy Winehouse
    Better Things-The Kinks
    Kentucky Woman-Neil Diamond
    Early in the Morning-Peter, Paul And Mary
    Turpentine-Brandi Carlile
    Cry Me a River-Justin Timberlake
    Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa-Vampire Weekend
    Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)-Mötley Crüe
    Moving In Stereo-The Cars
    Easy Tonight-Five for Fighting
    soft blade-Billy Harvey
    Heroes-David Bowie
    How to Save a Life-The Fray
    Hallelujah Jordan-Hothouse Flowers
    The Unforgettable Fire-U2
    One (Blake’s Got A New Face)-Vampire Weekend
    Dreaming -Blondie
    My Love-Justin Timberlake & T.I.
    My Brave Face-Paul McCartney
    The Other Me-Joe Jackson
    Hold On-KT Tunstall
    This One-Paul McCartney
    Any Way You Want It-Journey
    Do You Know What I’m Seeing?-Panic At the Disco
    A-Punk-Vampire Weekend

  4. Music got very far away from the guitar bands of the 70’s that I was trying to emulate after 1982. It had something to do with MTV. A lot of that stuff, I can play on the guitar. Although Handel, Bach and Bohemian Rhapsody aren’t things that I play…:-)

    I also graduated from high school then. I have a premise that everyone locks into a particular age and stays that way until they have some life threatening event. So I’m pretty much stuck in at 17 or so mentally and even with my receding hairline, that’s how i view myself.

    The main difference between then and now for me is recovery time…I’m probably in better shape now than then, but if I over-exert now it takes me longer to recover…on the order of days…that’s when I get an inkling that I ain’t 17.5 anymore. 🙂

    One song that strangely didn’t make it to the top 25 that I know I play a lot is Synchronicity II by The Police. I love how the lyrics switch from Scottish Lake to Scottish Loch to Scottish Lake again. That’s poetry.

    And you’ll notice there ain’t no Led Zeppelin there. Strange, but until last year, you couldn’t get that on iTunes. “There’s a lady who’s sure…”

Leave a Reply

