Armen Chakmakjian

Truly Historic Times…

In politics on November 5, 2008 at 5:58 am

8 days before I turned 5 years old, Neil Armstrong Landed on the moon.  I remember watching it on a black and white Zenith TV.

I saw Nixon resign on a color Magnavox TV.

I saw a Polish Pope get selected saying Be Not Afraid.

I remember John Paul II appearing in Shea Stadium on a rainy day and watched it clear as he drove into the stadium.

I saw the Hostages get freed when Ronald Reagan was inaugurated after 444 days.

I remember the site of an Electrician in a Polish shipyard start a movement against tryanny

I remember both Reagan and the Pope getting shot and recovering.

I watched the Berlin Wall Fall and the Soviet Union Collapse.

I remember listening to the mother of all briefings by Norman Schwartzkopf

I saw the first internet boom and then the bust.

I cried when I saw the WTC come down on 9/11

I watched the United States get itself tied up trying to react appropriately to being hated.

I just watched the most amazing thing of all.  I saw our nation heal its historic open wound.  I saw a man of color elected to the Presidency of the United States.  I voted for him after voting Republican for President for the last 5 elections.   I knew that this was the most important thing we could do for the country.  Congratulations to our country, the United States of America.

Leave a Reply

