Armen Chakmakjian

Web 2.0 and Personal Branding

In Business & Finance, career, Literature, web 2.0 on December 19, 2008 at 4:52 am

This is an article from The AppGap, a blog about Web 2.0 and Social Media issues. I thought the article was interesting given that there is a certain amount of “marketing” that is done by individuals when sharing info, digging something (like this), posting something to your blog (like this), and then maybe twittering it. Then one can establish Facebook Pages and Squidoo Lenses where you can try to make money by cross branding your thoughts and offerings with Amazon (and other) products in order to make a buck.

read more | digg story

The article makes a point that you have to know, first, why you are doing this.   In my case, the blog was created as a way for me to drive traffic to my book on the Amazon Kindle, while creating my Web 2.0 persona (because my day job is managing a team that is creating web platforms that socialize data).   So after reading the article answer Adm. Stockdale’s question about your presence on the web: “Who am I and why am I here?”

Leave a Reply

