Armen Chakmakjian

Reflections on the path…

In Random on February 21, 2009 at 4:12 am

So, I just spent a most of a week in Mountain View.  I was sent here a member of a cadre of leaders-in-development at Intuit.  I had an awesome time.  It was a week of soul-searching, learning, collaborating and networking.   I couldn’t go into everything I learned, but I can get into some of the essential stuff with which I walked away:

  1. Simplify your message
  2. Passion for learning is palpable and infectious
  3. My Troy Brown speech works great even though I have to keep apologizing to San Diego Charger fans (he is awesome, sorry)
  4. We have some phenomenal business and corporate leads here at Intuit.
  5. I have to stop being so hard on myself…but at the same time, I have to execute much better.
  6. You have to accept and even thrive on ambiguity  the farther removed you are from the line work
  7. Energy is vital to motivation (and I have to accept that I actually come off energetic)

There are probably more.  I’ll have to think about it.  But I am sitting here reflecting and my VPN token seems to have defecated the sleeping arrangements so I can’t thank all the people that I grew with this week until I’m somehow able to overcome this “opportunity”.

The major dilemma is: can I keep the vital few things that I know I have to fix in the short term at the front of my priority list when the day to day responsibilties fill my attention.

Looking forward to my return.

  1. I look forward to talking about your learnings from last week

Leave a Reply

