Armen Chakmakjian

cars in america

In Random on April 12, 2009 at 11:34 pm


So my wife is driving one of our 2 Toyotas, and I’m a passenger on our way back from Connecticut. This has given me the opportunity to car count. I’m guessing I’m seeing 10 japanese cars for every 3 fords. continuing that comparison it’s 10:1 when toyota/honda/nissan a chrysler or gm and every gm looked old and warn out. I’ve actually counted more vw’s than gm cars. the few outliers are volvos and bimmers and coopers. not a hummer out there. conclusion? gm is dead. stick a fork in it. I haven’t driven a chevy or buick in 20 years. put your money in ford if you care to invest but gm…let it die and rebuild it. unscientific but this is what I see

  1. I’m with you on this somewhat, in fact I see a similar scene played out on the streets of LA. What I find interesting is that most people’s perspective seems a bit jaded by the noise out there.

    There’s no shortage of people who will complain about having their taxes go to GM in the form of a bailout and equity stake in the company. Have those same people invest a week’s wages on GM stock in their IRA, and you’ll surely see them sing a different tune. If everybody did that, everybody would be pulling for GM to rebound. Not that their management deserves it, but its food for thought.

Leave a Reply

