Armen Chakmakjian

A catch up post…

In Business & Finance, career, College, iPad, Kindle, Literature, Science Fiction, Social Media, technology, web 2.0 on August 28, 2010 at 3:45 pm

I’ve been remiss in updating my blog. This summer has been pretty busy. So here are a list of random things that I’ve come across this summer that got a reaction out of me:

1) iPad Mania. ho hum. I played with one, it is now circulating through my team. I get it, but I don’t necessarily want one. Maybe if they add a camera or something.

2) Kindle 3. A bit tempting. Not sure why.

3) Echo livescribe pen. As someone at work pointed out, the only interesting thing about this pen is that it won’t roll off the table like it’s predecessor (which was completely cylindrical).

4) My new Taylor GA12 –  12 string guitar, it is a beautiful instrument to play. I will say though that for a lot of songs it is just TOO much guitar.

5) Facebook – uhm friending is done.

6) Twitter – less important, less conversation going on, but I still find the tag cloud the most useful thing when trolling for news.

7) Friendfeed is dead.

8 ) Youtube – I got hit by a copyright skimming group for one of my cover recordings – does that make me real or something?

9) QuickBase – the product I work on.  Try it, you’ll soon be trying to figure out how you ever ran your process/team without it.   It was an interesting summer, and the changes we have made (and are going to be making) are teaching all of Intuit about having SAAS offerings.

10) Intuit – 15% jump in the stock price. Yee Haaa

11) Kid going to college – Payments have begun – the next seven years are going to be financially interesting

12) Back to school in a little over a week for me too.  GS602 – Business Process Analysis and GS603 – Leadership and Ethics  – ought to be interesting, although the 602 syllabus looks like a lot of work.  The process simulation tool I had to download is pretty cool though.

13) Older son got his driver’s license.  brought me home a coffee today. 😉

14) My book Urtaru will be going to print sometime this fall.  This summer was not one where I had concentrated time to work on the print version.  Still available on the kindle.  It also looks like the modified Amazon agreement for publishing no longer restricts me to their bookstore, so I might move it onto other ones in addition.

That’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

