Armen Chakmakjian

JetBlue = JetBoo!

In Random on September 28, 2010 at 6:55 pm

If you want to see the original text off my pen I posted it on Scribd But here’s the text as converted by the MyScript software..

———

Today I was taking a flight. let me say first that I was going from Boston to Rochester, NY, as the crow flies about 370 miles or about 6.5 hrs in a car. My flight was at 11:45 and I arrived at about 10:45 at the ticket counter.  A little later than the experienced traveller that I am would normally do, but within logical time.

I first went to the JetBoo! self service kiosk and after it determined who I was told me that I needed to go to an agent. I got in line to waited what seemed too long and went up to the newly freed agent. He began to print my boarding pass and said “your flight…” and then he called over a friend. They together determined that the second-leg of my flight Boston ->JFK JFK->Rochester had been cancelled…. and the next flight out of jFKwas at 10:00PM…11 hrs later. Remember the drive time I mentioned above?

I asked him pleasantly could he book me on another airline and he said he couldn’t…that had never been the case before in any of my travel…His response was that he couldn’t see other airlines. I withheld exploding so that I would not attract the attention of TSA employees: with my looks I’d end up at Guantanamo Bay. I said not to book me, I’d try my travel agent.

Note: my flight had already started boarding

So then I got on the phone with the emergency line for my company travel agency.

Let me give a plug for Carlson Wagonlit. The woman on the other end of the phone listened to me and gave me options. The only thing I said in response to “your tickets are non-refundable” was “OK but they cancelled my flight… this isn’t my fault”

Now lets go over the cost of this to the traveller.  No matter my decision at this point my day is wasted, the 4:00pm event I was supposed be at…forget it, and now I’m not working either.  They (JetBlue) never attempted to contact me to let me know there was a problem on their end…and they were asking me to take 12+ hours for a trip the direct flight was $500 RT and and 1.5 hrs, but 270 if I went through JFK making it 4hrs total.

In the end my persistent travel agent got me a refund from Jet Blue and put me on the first available direct flight at 4:57pm on US AIR. meaning I miss the afternoon event supposed to be at.

Remember JetBlue’s accommodation:

refund for the first outbound flight.  So lets see if this compensates me.  The USAIR direct flight cost my company more than the whole original JetBoo package, I spend the day in an airport mostly unproductively and I miss my event.

Their compensation $135

Sorry JetBlue you cost me and my company more than $135… not even including goodwill and intangibles.

I am writing this as I sit in the USAIR terminal waiting for my 4:57 flight

BOO!

so far I haven’t lost my cool, yelled, been snippy and I have thanked everyone profusely who tried to help

but…

I can’t say in all honesty that I’d recommend Jet Blue…and this was my maiden voyage on it.

  1. […] The busiest day of the year was September 28th with 33 views. The most popular post that day was JetBlue = JetBoo!. […]

Leave a Reply

