Armen Chakmakjian

A recurring theme: my Kindle DX

In Business & Finance, iPad, Kindle, Literature, Social Media on May 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm

The last two days were pretty much consumed with home maintenance and yard maintenance.  I woke up late this morning, and various muscles hurt in places that I didn’t think I used.  So I went and set up the coffee and checked my phone for email and messages.  It was a pretty quiet morning from a data pov.

Once the coffee was brewed, I decided that I wanted to read a newspaper.  Having read through the Sunday Globe yesterday, there wasn’t much there.  I thought to myself, Hey how about the FT on the kindle? So I got my DX out and went to the store and saw that the FT available as a single issue to me was from Friday.  I didn’t want to read Friday’s news.  So I decided that I’d download today’s New York Times.  It was only $0.99.

I poured my coffee into my official home coffee mug that was a Xmas present from a couple of years ago.  It is a mug my wife bought when we visited the Statue of Liberty 2 years ago during our Thanksgiving trip to NYC.  Anyway, coffee poured and newspaper downloaded I went and sat outside on the patio.  The sky was a bit overcast, and every few minutes, I’d feel a drop, but it never started to rain.  I sat there reading the today’s New York Times on my Kindle DX out in my backyard.  I had forgotten my phone inside so there were no electronic distractions.

As I was reading and sipping coffee, I heard the birds chirping.  I’d hear a rustling in the leaves under the Forsythia bushes next to my grill gazebo, and I’d see a squirrel digging around.  I returned to reading.  I read about Doctor’s in Maine, trouble in the soon-to-be Southern Sudan republic, Afghanistan, Iraq, Yemen, and the Tornado saga from the midwest.  I learned about a guy building a to scale replica of Noah’s ark in Holland, and how he had to work through all the modern building codes.  I read editorials, op-eds and letters to the editor.  I noticed that the coffee was low in the mug, went inside, poured a second cup and went back outside.  I read some sports stuff, a chipmunk ran across the yard, read about Tom Watson in particular.  Then after about an hour, I finished.

I really enjoy reading on my Kindle.  I had an iPad for a while, and I just never saw the utility, especially since I have my droid phone and my mac.   I tried all kinds of apps, but I just didn’t get into it.  I can see how others would (that’s why I own apple stock).   However, I  think that Jeff Bezos’ is right in the idea that people who “read deeply” need a device .

 

Leave a Reply

