Armen Chakmakjian

Writing and Reading…

In College, Music, Random, Religion, Science Fiction on August 11, 2012 at 12:52 am

Lately, I’ve had trouble concentrating on my writing.  I’ve gotten a couple of blog posts out, a few pages in my  never-ending attempt to write book 2 in the Urtaru trilogy, some simming as Captain of my starship (the USS Washington B), and lots of research papers for my classes at Bentley.  I was particularly proud of my paper analyzing the intelligence in the Livescribe Pen and how it acts as an extension of cognitive functions humans use.

The dilemma I’m having is that I have a lot of things I want to say and share, but time to concentrate on any one of them is very limited.  Even writing this blog post is taking me away from other writing I could be doing.  Sigh.

In the particular case of school research papers, I’m still confused by the rules of publication.  If there’s an expert out there that can explain to me what the ramifications of this: if I write a paper for a class, can I self publish it here on my blog or will that run me afoul of school rules somehow (for example, if I share a research paper I’ve written, but someone copies it because I made it publicly available, am I out-of-bounds with the academic rules of the school)  So I avoid the whole thing because it’d just make things difficult while I’m still in school.

A while ago, I read Stephen King’s “On Writing” and he spends a good amount of time on the minutia of the writing process.  Have that special place with a door.  He listens to Rock Music loud while writing to block out other things.  He writes every day in the same spot, at the same time, output the same number of words.   Ultimately the dilemma for me is carving out that time for each of the media in which I write.  I think I have to pick one and just do it consistently for a while.

The other thing that takes time is reading.  I need to read more and more deeply.  I’m in the middle of several works and publications right now.  Here’s a sampling:

  • Every day I read the WSJ website,
  • I have a subscription to Reuters news for my Kindle DX that I probably get to 3-4 days a week
  • I’m in the middle of Simon Sinek’s book “Start With Why
  • My sister lent me a book that I’m reading to see if there’s any good material for Sunday School.  Scott Hahn’s “A Father Who Keeps His Promises
  • I’m in the middle of a book that I’ve been trying to get through for a while “The Algebraist” which I can’t get on the Kindle which is a problem since I’ve forsook paper books a while ago.
  • I read the sample of Walter Isaacsons “Einstein” and want to start it (and you can see where this is in the list right now
  • Finally I keep looking at this copy of Umberto Eco’s “Baudolino” that is on my nightstand that I bought several years ago and has yet to have its cover cracked.

There’s just too much stuff to do.  I won’t mention my new guitar, as that has been a massive distraction for the last 2 days.  But a pleasant one nonetheless.  Three weeks till school starts again…5 research papers 20% each and no other grade component.

Leave a Reply

