Armen Chakmakjian

Thinking about thinking about thinking

In College, Random on November 18, 2012 at 2:45 am

I’ve just written the penultimate draft of my paper that is due Tuesday. I saved it, and closed Word. I had to.  Final edits tomorrow, of which the ultimate goal is to take my 6.25 pages of 1.5 spaced text (not including abstract and citations) and distill it down to a readable 5 pages. This is the tough because there are so many points that I’m trying to make.  It literally comes down to whether I am wasting words or not.

This paper was about metacognition. Writing a paper on metacognition (loosely defined as thinking about thinking) is the act of thinking about thinking about thinking. This was, so far, the toughest of the papers as we have to avoid other topics that we have written about before, such as visual perception, the preattentive mechanism, and cognition, affordances and mental models. as well as avoiding the topic of the final paper for the semester, working memory.

My brain is fried.  I concentrated on two specific topics in the current paper: learning styles support in gaining facility with Evernote and information foraging support in Evernote once facility is achieved through notebooks and tagging features. After I saved the file and closed word, I grabbed a dram of Macallan because I figured I deserved it after getting through this topic…at least to the point that I have all the content I want to have generated in the flow that I wanted.  I can relax now.

The fact that I am writing this update is so that I’m writing something other than a scientific research treatise, a status update to execs or a motivation note to my employees. I just needed to express myself in a plain manner.  As with any blogger, the act of writing is auto-didactic since I’m figuring things out while I’m writing without a specific purpose at the moment except to write what I’m thinking.

Damn…that’s metacognition…All work and no play makes jack a dull boy

All work and no play makes jack a dull boy…

All work and no play makes jack a dull boy…

🙂

Leave a Reply

