Armen Chakmakjian

Eras, transitions, and music

In wow on May 5, 2013 at 11:04 pm

This is an amazing time of life. I could say that an era of this or that is ending, however it’s not merely my impending graduation, or the graduation of my son samuel from Sunday school or from Armenian Saturday school both of which he attended for 13 or 14 years; it’s not just his graduation from high school; It’s not my other son Daniel dashing off to Rome for an abbreviated semester or getting another co-op job for the summer/fall.

It hit me today during the final Arlington Pops concert, watching many children that I remember from kindergarten, that the era is ending in which I’d be watching my sons achieve because I told them to. The era that is ending is that of which I am the father of kids. I’m now the father of men finding their place in the world…sometimes seeking my advice, but mostly blazing their own paths.

When I started attending school for my MBA, my older son was a freshman in high school and it’s pretty amazing to be going to school at the same time as your teen children. Not a few people out and out told me I was crazy. and sometimes i agreed. Being a student at the same time as your children means you have to balance empathy – listening to them complain about homework and complaining along with them sometimes – with the need to show them how to keep pushing forward.

So while I listened to the Arlington high school symphony orchestra play “Final Countdown” I decided that they were not playing just for themselves, marking the event of end of their high school careers. They were playing to a deep place in me; a place that detected my transition.

Carpe Diem!

Leave a Reply

