Armen Chakmakjian

Haroutioun Hovanes Chakmakjian

In Random on June 1, 2013 at 8:30 pm

This is an electronic copy of the first armenian-american english dictionary: http://www.archive.org/stream/armenoamericanl00chakgoog#page/n8/mode/2up

Now I don’t have any idea if I am related to this Chakmakjian, but he was a professor at Tufts university early last century and a resident of Arlington, MA. One of his notable works was this dictionary. His other claim to fame was that he was the father of Alan Hovhaness, the Armenian-American composer.

Since i moved to Arlington, MA in 1990, many people (especially Armenians) have asked me if I was related to either the professor or the composer…dunno.

As the Chakmakjian side of my family came to America using a circuitous route that started in that same Adana, and around 1908 were driven into orphanages in Lebanon, then living in Jerusalem, Beit Jamal, Ramleh, Bethlehem, Jerusalem again, Amman, Jordan, then Bridgeport CT, I have no idea if we are related in some way way back way.

Why am I writing this? Well, I received a phone call from a gentleman who saw a picture of my younger son in the Arlington Advocate doing the high jump. The gentleman left a message since we weren’t home and I called him back yesterday evening. It turns out that he was a childhood neighbor and friend of the then Arlington Chakmakjians, and yes you guessed it, he wanted to know if I was related somehow.

So I hope you enjoy flipping through this pretty significant document that happens to have my surname in it, even if I can’t claim relations to the creator.

Leave a Reply

