Armen Chakmakjian

Playing for fun…

In Random on June 26, 2013 at 4:14 pm

So at a friend’s annual party last weekend I got to jam a bit with some really great guitarists.  I was playing my Martin GPCPA1, they were playing some nice Taylors and we had a great time.  After a scotch or two, playing Rush’s “Limelight” on 3 acoustic guitars is pretty funny. My GPCPA1 continues to make me sound like a better guitarist than I actually am.  As I quipped right after I bought it, “I own a guitar now that I’m not a good enough guitarist to be worthy of playing.” practice, practice, practice…

Anyway, one of the Taylors was a student sized guitar, and it was pretty amazing sounding.  I’ve never heard a small guitar like that play that loud and clear.  As we were being amazed by the sound of it, I turned to one of the other guitarists and said, “Well that just goes to prove something I heard once, that Martins sound like they were built by God.  Taylors sound like they are built by Satan.”   🙂

Leave a Reply

