Armen Chakmakjian

24 hrs with glass

In Random, Social Media, technology on November 30, 2013 at 9:09 pm

No I haven’t left the house yet with it.

20131207-132804.jpg

General observations:

  • Snapping off a quick picture of the family at the table for leftovers was easy.
  • Once I got Evernote hooked up, saving a quick note to myself is easy (speech to text).
  • Sending a short email was ok once I got a couple of contacts added to the glass contact list was predictable and easy.
  • Because I’m an iPhone user I don’t get text messaging/sms or directions which stinks.
  • Sharing a picture to any service, email, Evernote wasn’t too bad, although not having the ability to annotate the picture with text (using text to speech for a caption) seems like glaring dumbness…Or the ability to do so is so non-obvious that it’s a massive usability miss.
  • Googled a few things and it is ok.
  • I did figure out how to use glass to send a message via ifttt email to my wemo outlets. I’d have used sms to do this, but for the iPhone limitation. The truth is that I don’t need glass to do this, but it was fun for a demo. The time delay for email processing is significant though. I say “send a message to kitchen light…Hashtag kitchen off” and glass figures out I mean #kitchenoff and sends it. 30 second later, the wemo reacts to the command.
  • I haven’t yet figured out how to send a text tweet or a Facebook status update, even though I can share a picture.

Will keep experimenting…

  1. […] my earlier post today, it was before I went out with glass on my face. My wife and I did a quick trip to Costco at about […]

Leave a Reply

