Armen Chakmakjian

Very smooth…

In bourbon, Random, wine and whiskey on September 21, 2014 at 2:16 am

So I was at BJ’s tonight and there was a special on Jameson Irish Whiskey. If you bought the bottle of Black Barrel Jameson you got a free glass that was also black. I mulled it over for a second, walked around the wines and liquors, and back to the front and picked up the bottle again.

As I was standing there pondering this once again, the clerk at the counter calls to me and says, “If you’d like to try some we have a bottle here.” I was a little shocked, and said, “Sure!” He pulled a bottle out of a small fridge behind the counter and poured a tiny amount into a plastic cup. He explained to me that they do have small amounts of beers, wines and other spirits for tastings they offer from time to time, and pointed to a contraption that had 6 beer taps. I was suitably impressed, and then took a swig.

Wow, it was good. It starts off with the taste of a really smooth peatless single malt scotch and finishes like a bourbon. Honestly, it is better than most of the bourbon I’ve tried, and better than the Tullamore Dew that’s in the back of the picture that I’ve included here. I was sold. I proceeded to purchase a bottle and got my free glass. Nothing like a good buy and a gift!

IMG_0569.JPG

Anyway, I consider these updates a public service 😄.

Slainte.

Leave a Reply

