Armen Chakmakjian

Star Wars VII: The Force Forsaken

In Uncategorized on December 30, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Last night I went to see the new installment of Star Wars, now under Disney control. For the most part, had I not seen the previous movies, highs and lows, good and bad, I might have thought that this was a decent if somewhat cliche space cowboy thing. Snap-cracking old guys, fuzzy loyal friends, beeping robots are one thing, but I could see Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Dune and Star Trek scenes mimicked all over the place. Even a bit of Guardians of the Galaxy. I think Maz was the Shadout Mapes in many ways.

However, being as this was both a retrospective and a setup for the future franchise, of which I have imbibed all 6 previous episodes and some now-apocryphal works, I had some investment in the transition of the old to the new characters.

Overall rating? B

Rating against the previous movies? In best to worst order for me IV, V, III, VII, VI, II, I. That rating is because the main difference between this movie and VI was the lack of Ewoks saving the day.

Special effects: B+

New Characters: A

Old Characters: A

Story: C

Blowing up another Death Star: C

The best exchange: 

Fin: We’ll use the force!

Han: It doesn’t work that way kid!

Worst scenes: (Tie)

  • Han gets killed staring at Ben
  • Luke stares at Rey on the top of mount doom surrounded by the waters of Caladan

Lots of staring like Spanish television novelas.  

So a big question is are they going to kill off old characters one at a time like rocky movies? Han, then Leia, then in the final installment Luke and Chewbacca. 

I was entertained and I’m looking forward to uncovering if Snoke is actually Jar Jar Binks. I think he is, and it makes sense up to a point. There are others who speculate about this and I think their reasoning has merit.

I do feel like the mysticism of the force has been totally dissipated. Everybody seems to be able to use it, and light Sabres are no longer a sign of martial finesse. That’s why I called it “The Force Forsaken”. Nevertheless, I had fun and except for another monster mega Death Star I thought it lived up to what it needed to do. To boldly go where no brand has gone before….

Leave a Reply

